What are the penalties for a DWAI-Drug in New York?

In New York State, driving under the influence is taken very seriously and those who break these laws will face serious consequences. Many people who think of driving under the influence assume that you can only get this charge if you are driving drunk. However, if you are driving while you are impaired by a drug, there is a specific charge for that offense. There is also a charge that people face when they are driving while under the influence of both drugs and alcohol.

Driving While Impaired by a Drug (DWAI-Drug)

If you have been charged with driving while your ability is impaired by taking drugs, or a DWAI-Drug, you can expect to face a number of penalties. A first offense of this charge will include a fine between $500 and $1,000, as well as a license suspension for a minimum of 6 months and up to one year in jail.

Second offenses of a DWAI-Drug within 10 years will result in up to 4 years in jail, license revocation for at least a year, and a fine between $1,000 and $5,000. A third DWAI-Drug offense in 10 years will result in a Class D felony. You can expect to face up to 7 years in jail, a license revocation of up to 1 year, and a fine between $2,000 and $10,000.

Driving While Ability Impaired by Combination (DWAI-Combination)

A DWAI-Combination of drugs and alcohol charge is a serious situation. A first offense DWAI-Combination charge will result in a fine between $500 and $1,000, up to 1 year in jail, and a license revocation of up to 6 months.

If you have been charged with any of these crimes, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney who can provide you with assistance.

If you are in need of experienced and dedicated legal counsel, please contact The Penichet Firm and we will be happy to assist you in your family or criminal law matters.