Memorial Day Weekend is a time when many people choose to celebrate the start of summer with barbecues, beach trips, graduation parties, and more. Many of these fun events involve the consumption of alcohol. While alcohol is a staple at any celebration, it is important to consider the safety of yourself and the others around you when you drink. Law enforcement knows that this weekend is one where many people, unfortunately, make the poor decision to drink and drive and plans to crack down on those who do.
The penalties for driving while intoxicated are very serious and should not be taken lightly. If you are charged with Driving While Intoxicated in New York State, you can expect to face severe penalties. For a first offense DWI, you can expect to have your driver’s license revoked for a minimum of six months, pay a fine between $500 and $1,000, and may face up to one year in jail. If you refuse to take a breathalyzer test when asked, you may be facing a $500 civil penalty fine and have your license revoked for at least a year.
It is also important to note that New York State has a zero tolerance law, meaning that anyone who is charged with driving under the influence but is not yet old enough to legally drink will face consequences. The zero tolerance law applies to people who are under the age of 21 and have a BAC between .02 and .07. They can expect a license suspension for 6 months and a civil penalty fine of $125.
Stay safe this Memorial Day Weekend. Drinking and driving puts your life in danger, as well as the lives of the others around you.
If you are in need of experienced and dedicated legal counsel, please contact The Penichet Firm and we will be happy to assist you in your family or criminal law matters.