Despite a number of states throughout the country legalizing the recreational use of marijuana, this is not legal in the state of New York. Though New York does allow medical marijuana for those who have health issues that find it helpful, the possession and use is still against the law for recreational purposes. In addition, you will find yourself in further legal trouble if you are charged with selling marijuana in New York State.

If a person is found to have 25 grams of marijuana or less, they will be required to pay a fine of up to $100 for a first offense, $200 for a second offense, and $250 and/or up to 15 days in jail for a third offense. Once a person exceeds the possession of 25 grams, they will face a misdemeanor, as long as it is under 8 oz. Any possession over 8 oz. is considered a felony. For example, if you were in possession of 1 lb of marijuana, it is a felony charge that can result in 4 years of incarceration and a maximum fine of $5,000. However, if you had 1.5 lbs of marijuana, you will face up to 7 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.

These are serious offenses that should not be taken lightly. Don’t think that just because recreational marijuana use is legal in some states, New York won’t penalize you for possession. They will. If you have been charged with marijuana possession in New York State, contact an experienced attorney who can provide you with assistance.

If you are in need of legal counsel, please contact The Penichet Firm and we will be happy to assist you in your family and criminal law matters.